3 Business Lessons I Learned in 2016

I couldn’t figure out how to start this video.  Let’s just jump into it.

Hey welcome back to another week of The Bootstrap Boutique where beginners build businesses.

This week I wanted to share with you three things that I’ve learned in 2016, which I guess you could call my first year in business, if you don’t care about businesses making money.

The first thing that I have learned this year is that opportunity is everywhere if you’re willing to look for it.  So you know, I first got interested in ecommerce and selling online when I started reading the My Wife Quit Her Job blog.  And that opened my eyes to ecommerce in general because when I think about buying stuff online I think about the big guys, you know, Amazon and Amazon and Amazon and you get the point.  But reading about Bumblebee Linens and that story reminded me, there are so many online shops that I have bought from over the years that were just little mom and pops or least not Amazon size big or not Wayfair size big or something like that.

So you know, its definitely something that I have experience with as a consumer and why not look into something like that as a business.  And again, you know that from My Wife Quit Her Job I found the Amazing Seller and selling on Amazon and all that stuff.  So those are two great opportunities that I never would have found had I not been kind of looking again for a way to go into business for myself.

Now that I’ve got those two things as my primary focus I’ve found all these other ways that you can either go into business for yourself or just make some fun money on the side. For instance, you could earn money on YouTube. Now, I don’t have any illusions of ever making some kind of full time income from YouTube videos but its a really fun thing for me to do, I love to share it. And if it throws off a hundred dollars every six or eight months or whatever than thats cool but its certainly not life changing money. But there are absolutely people that make a living doing YouTube videos to create communities around that.

You could make money with blogging, or podcasting, or being an influencer on social media like Instagram, or Snapchat.  You could do conferences in person and online, you could do retail stuff, you could be a coach, you could sell a digital product.  I’m telling you, there are so many opportunities out there right now that when you start thinking you are going to do one thing it pretty soon becomes really hard to just focus on that one thing and not let your mind go off in a hundred different directions.  But I never would have known about all that stuff if I hadn’t been looking for it.  So when you start to look for opportunities, they are everywhere.  So start looking.

The second thing that I have learned is that the business game is always going to change and you’ve got to be ready to change with it.  Yeah, just since I even started researching the Amazon “thing” so many changes have taken place with selling on that platform.

Just little things like you can’t pay for reviews anymore, or if you’re a new seller you can’t even ship in the fourth quarter until they lift that restriction, or UPC codes have to come from GS1.  Uhhhh, yeah those are not small changes.

The future belongs to optimistic thinkers who are going to take those changes and find a way to integrate it into their business and make their business even better.  I think we should update Benjamin Franklin’s statement.  The only things that are guaranteed in life are death, taxes and change.

The third thing I’ve learned so far this year is that when you put yourself out there, things start to happen. Since I’ve started making these YouTube videos, since I have started to participate in online groups and discussions I have met so many awesome people and have actually been surprised to see the opportunities that have come my way.  And I’m like, “Whaaaat?”  I’m such a small fish in this pond but people want to reach out and make connections and help each other along, which is a beautiful thing and I’m just really excited to actually start doing some of that stuff.

And I know that this is only going to snowball going forward. I was listening to a recent Scott Voelker, The Amazing Seller, podcast and he was talking about all the different stuff he had going on and because he has made all these connections over the past few years that these opportunities have come to him that he never would have imagined. And that can happen for you too.

A couple of things you’ve got to do, you’ve got to be out there, people need to know who you are, and you’ve got to be willing to extend your hand first. Right? So you help other people and other people will help you.

Alright so we’ve got two weeks left in 2016 that is hard to believe, but let’s make sure that you are setting yourself up for success next year.  So, take some time today and reflect on what you have learned this year that’s going to help you in business next year.  Leave them down in the comments below.  Be sure to subscribe to this channel if you haven’t already.  We post new videos every Wendesday.

I will see you next week, take care!

Leave a Reply

