How To Start A Business By Treating It Like A Project

Starting a business can sound like this big, scary thing.  But really, its just a project.

Hey my name is Megan and this is The Bootstrap Boutique where beginners build businesses.  And this week we are going to talk about that, about building a business.

And how it really can seem overwhelming when you start.  But I’ve found that if you treat it kind of like any other project that you take on, especially a big project, then its something that you can absolutely get it done, tackle it and launch your thing.

So today we’re going to cover four things that you can do to help start your business by treating it like a work project.

Thing One.  Break it down.

So whenever you start a project at work, what do you do?

You think about all the different tasks that have to be completed in order to do the project.

So when you think about starting a business, just go ahead and do the same thing.  You can make an excel spread sheet, you can use sticky notes, however it works for you, but just get it out and start writing down all the things that you actually need to do to launch your business.

So these are all kinds of different things, like you need an EIN number and a bank account and an email address and possibly a website.  You need a marketing plan and you need a niche, you need product, whether thats physical or digital.

The list literally goes on and on and on.  But just write down everything that you can think of that you need to do to start a business.  It’s probably not going to be exhaustive right now because you’re going to realize other things you need to do as you get going and that’s ok but the point here is just start writing.

I also think its really helpful if you go ahead in this step and write out how long you think things are going to take you.  So something like getting an EIN from the IRS website will only take you about 5 minutes.

You can set up an email address really quickly, but if you haven’t found your niche yet, then that is something that you really need to spend some time on.  Just make it your best guess it doesn’t have to be perfect.  We’re keeping everything pretty loosey goosey here so don’t worry, you don’t have to be perfect.  Just get your best estimate.

Ok, Step Two is block it out.

Now you’re going to take all these different actions that you just identified and group like actions together.  So maybe you have like an admin bucket that does include things like get an EIN, set up my email address, get a new bank account with your DBA or your LLC or whatever.  Thats another one, what’s your corporate structure going to be? All these kind of admin things can go together in a nice little bucket.

You would also maybe have a marketing bucket.  So are you going to have a facebook fan page or a closed group? Are you going to have a leadpages site? Are you going to do twitter, periscope, facebook live, whatever.  That’s all going to be headed under your marketing.

There’s lots of other buckets that you’re going to find here.  I don’t know why this means bucket, just stick with me.  But I think you get the idea and you don’t actually want this to be a fifteen minute video so lets just go with those two examples.

Step three is to schedule it.

And this part is important if you work also a day job, because you are really going to be limited to either in the morning, a little bit at lunch, or late at night.  And its crucial that you know how you work best.

So are you an early riser or a night owl?  That’s probably when you are going to be the most productive and actually going to be able to get the most work done.  Because Lord knows, if you told me I couldn’t start on my side job until nine at night, there would be no side job because I am tired by the end of the day.

So thinking about when you work best, go ahead and actually put that time on your calendar and commit to it.  Show up when you say you’re going to show up, even for yourself.  Most importantly for yourself, but we have a hard time doing that sometimes, but make yourself and this business a priority.

My absolute favorite thing to make sure that I am focusing and doing the work when I say I’m going to focus and do the work is something called the Pomodoro Technique.  And that involves doing really focused work for 25 minutes taking a 5 minute break, repeating that four or five times and then taking a 30 minute break or longer at the end of four blocks of that time.  Try that for a little, I think you’ll be impressed at how much you can actually accomplish.

Number Four.  You gotta do the work.

All the tips and all the tricks in the whole wide world will not matter if you don’t sit down and do the work.

Nothing was actually done by daydreaming.  Daydreaming is important, it has its place and I would be lying if I told you that I didn’t sit back and think about how great this is all going to be when I finally get this business up and running, but you know where I am after the end of a day dreaming session, or whatever you call it? Um, exactly where I was when I started it.

Nothing works unless you do, so make sure that you are putting your head down and getting stuff done everyday to move forward in your goal.

Hey, I’m so glad you were able to join me this week, make sure you’re subscribed to this channel, I post new videos every Wednesday, and they are all about how to help beginners build businesses.

I would love for you to leave me a comment and let me know what you think about this video, if there is something else that you would like me to talk about or just whatever else you think I should know.  Be sure to follow me on Twitter, I am @megloftin and also now on Snapchat at @meg.loftin.  I will talk to you next week guys, take care!

Leave a Reply

