How Not To Speak Things Into The Universe. Video 9.1

Hey guys, my name is Megan and this is the Bootstrap Boutique where I document my journey to creating a small online business.

Now that we have that out of the way, I am shooting agin just a quick update video from my little hole that I work from for my day job.

You know, I’m not really into woo woo, and the Secret, and thinking that you can speak something out into the universe and its just going to happen, right?

Except, yesterday I made a video that I posted earlier today where I said, I can’t believe that my supplier hasn’t just said, “I don’t want to work with you anymore”  because of all the miscommunication that we were having.

So I thought that we were in a really good place and I sent a purchase order last night.  Woke up this morning, and I had an email that said, “We don’t want to work with you anymore. Your PO was way too complicated.”

So did I speak that into existence and make that happen?  I don’t know.  But it definitely happened, so right now I’m kind of trying to figure out where do I go from here?  Do I try and salvage the relationship? I did send a quick email that said hey, what is too complicated about this PO? Maybe we can be flexible on some points.  I don’t know what they are going to say, we’ll see if they come back at all with a “yeah, you need to take out this clause or this clause” or whatever or if they just don’t respond.

Who knows what’s going to happen, but I’ll find out in the next six or nine hours or so.

So maybe we can salvage it, we can move forward, there are some things that are in that PO that I would be willing to compromise on, carton size, number of products, shipping cost, cost of goods, those are the four things that we’re not going to budge on but there are some other things in there that we probably could.

But you know, I really felt like I needed to have this long, really clear, leaves no questions unanswered, order because we have had so many issues with communication.  And I don’t know, maybe I just took it too far the other way.

I did use a template for this purchase order, and it’s really just if you have looked on the Jungle Scout Collaborative Product Launch, which I mentioned in previous videos, there is a template that they have there and I just used that, copied it and made it fit what I  have and so, you can go look at it, what I sent.

I don’t think its crazy but the supplier, what they said was for this simple product, what you’re ordering, you don’t need all this. This is too much.  So, I don’t know.  I’m trying to decide is it really too much, or am I just dodging a bullet here? Was I being a huge pain in the butt or is this reasonable? And I just don’t really know the answer to that yet.

I did post about it on the Amazing Seller facebook group that I’m a member of and am getting some kind of varied feedback as to whether its too much or if I’m dodging a bullet.  But like I said, it just feels a little too soon to tell.

So I wanted to shoot this quick video to update you because it is not all sunshine and rainbows over here trying to start a business. I talk about I want to see what does that hard work look like and I think I’ve said that time and time again the hard work is not the hours, its not the research its not trying to figure out problems, all that is kind of fun and its very different than what I’m used to doing, certainly with my free time.

What’s hard is how emotionally invested you get in this stuff and when things don’t work out like you think they will, it’s really hard not to take it personally.  So I can say all day long in my day job, “Oh, its just business, this is just a business decision that we have to make.” and so on an so forth, but when its me and when its what I’m actually doing to try and create another income stream and trying to start a business and see what its like, it hurts a little more.

It doesn’t feel like business, it feels personal.  And I just keep telling myself, its not.  So, yeah at the end of the day guys, this is tough stuff, this is real life, it is not all like, “Oh you do this, you do this, you do this, and you move through the process.” The reality is that it’s much more of like a spaghetti chart where everything is kind of cris-crossing and all over and it just looks like a mess.  So what I’m trying to do right now is tug on a string over here and tug on a string over here and see if we can kind of straighten out the line.  So, there’s some work to be done still.

And I just wanted to put out an update because you know, I think so many of us, we always try to hide the hard stuff and really amplify the happy stuff, or the easy stuff or you know, we want to shout from the rooftops when things go our way and I just wanted to share this chapter which is kinda stinky.  It sucks.

So, that’s all I’ve got.  I don’t know what I’m going to do.

Luckily I have started looking to a second product so if this one is a total bust and I have wasted the last six weeks of my life, scratch that, they aren’t wasted because we’re learning, right?  We are learning what not to do, which is just as important as learning what to do.

But, if that doesn’t turn into a product, at least hopefully I have something else in the pipeline, and this will not take me six weeks to get to this point again.  So, that’s all I’ve got, I just wanted to share that.

Feel free to shoot me an email to thebootstrapboutique@gmail.com, this is not an edited pretty video, this is very raw and very real, so thanks guys for listening to me rant.  I said in my video from earlier today that I will talk next week and I will have a better story to share, and next week I will, is just not today.  Its not this video.  Thanks guys, I will talk to you soon, I appreciate you tuning in.  Bye!

Leave a Reply

